Bee is a personal AI that helps you keep track of what’s important, more deeply understand your world, and simplify your life. With a Bee device, you can record your spoken thoughts and conversations. Your Bee saves this information as transcripts, summaries, and personal insights and uses it to give you recommendations, suggested to-dos, and timely reminders.
Your Bee is personal to you, and only you can access your transcripts, summaries, and insights. That data is processed inside a Bee Private Compute environment. Data in a Bee Private Compute environment is secure and isolated, and no one other than you, not even Amazon, can access that data. You can choose to share your data with someone or with another service. Any data you choose to share is no longer within the Bee Private Compute environment and will be accessible to the people or services with whom you share the data according to their privacy practices and policies. To learn more, see the FAQs "What data is stored in the Bee Private Compute environment?" and “Can I connect Bee to other services?”
You are responsible for respecting others’ privacy and using Bee in a way that complies with all applicable laws. For example, some laws require you to obtain consent from anyone you record. You may not disable, obscure, obstruct, or otherwise tamper with any indicator on a Bee device in any way, including to prevent an indicator from being visible to others.
Your use of Bee must comply with the Alexa and Amazon Devices Acceptable Use Policy.
You decide when Bee records. A single press of the action button on your Bee device starts recording, and a single press stops it. The Bee app also allows you to start and stop a recording at any time. If you have more than one Bee device, only one device can record at a time. You can also set an auto-stop timer in the Bee app so your Bee device will stop recording after a period of inactivity you choose.
When you are recording on a Bee device, a visual indicator on the device will indicate that the device is recording. In the Bee app, a visual indicator shows when a device is recording.
Audio is not stored. It is processed and then discarded.
The following types of data are stored within the Bee Private Compute environment:
You can create a voice profile so you can be recognized when you speak to your Bee device. When you create a voice profile, recordings of your voice are used to create an acoustic model of your voice characteristics. Your voice profile is stored within the Bee Private Compute environment and is not accessible by Amazon.
You can also identify other speakers in your transcripts by assigning a name to a speaker. When you do, an acoustic model for that speaker may be created if enough data is available. These acoustic models are also stored within the Bee Private Compute environment. You are responsible for getting permission and complying with any applicable laws, including laws regulating biometric identifiers or information, before you identify people in your transcripts.
You can delete your voice profile or any speaker identification at any time in the Bee app. If a voice profile is not recognized for 18 months, the acoustic model will be automatically deleted.
Yes. You can delete your transcripts, summaries, insights, voice profile, and labels at any time through the Bee app. Deleted data cannot be recovered.
Yes. You can choose to connect Bee to connected services, such as Alexa. Connecting a service allows Bee to share your transcripts, summaries, and certain other data with that service. For example, if you connect Bee to Alexa, you can ask Alexa to access your Bee summaries, to-dos, and insights on any Alexa enabled device. To use a connected service, you must enable the service through the Bee app. The Bee app contains more information about connected services, such as applicable privacy policies and terms for using connected services.
When you connect Bee to a connected service, you authorize Bee to share certain data with that service. Once shared, that data is no longer within the Bee Private Compute environment and is subject to the terms and privacy practices of the connected service. You can disconnect any connected service at any time through the Bee app. When you disconnect, Bee will stop sharing data with that service, but data previously shared may be retained by that service in accordance with its own terms and policies.