Saving Your Network Passwords to Amazon FAQs

WiFi

1. What's the benefit of saving my Wi-Fi passwords to Amazon?

When you save your Wi-Fi passwords to Amazon, we can help compatible devices connect to the Internet, so that you don’t need to re-enter your Wi-Fi passwords on each device. To learn more, see the Frustration-Free Setup FAQ.

2. Are my Wi-Fi passwords secure?

Once saved to Amazon, your Wi-Fi passwords are sent over a secured connection and are stored in an encrypted file on an Amazon server. Amazon will only use your Wi-Fi passwords with compatible devices associated with your account, and will not share them with any third party without your permission. Amazon handles any information it receives, including your Wi-Fi passwords, in accordance with the Amazon.com Privacy Notice.

If you are part of an Amazon Family, your saved password may be used by the system to help family members' devices connect during setup. The password is never displayed to or accessible by any family member. You remain in full control and can disable this at any time. 

3. Can I choose not to save my password to Amazon?

Yes, you can opt out of saving your password to Amazon the first time you enter your Wi-Fi credentials. If you opt out of this feature, your credentials will continue to be stored locally on your device (and/or in its companion app), to allow your device to connect to the Internet.

4. What should I do if I change my Wi-Fi passwords?

You can save your updated Wi-Fi passwords to Amazon by re-running any compatible device through its Wi-Fi setup process. Once reconnected to your Wi-Fi network, your updated Wi-Fi password will be automatically saved to Amazon.

5. How do I delete my Wi-Fi passwords from Amazon?

To delete Wi-Fi passwords saved to Amazon using your web browser:

  1. Go to Manage Your Content and Devices
  2. Click the Preferences tab.
  3. Under Saved Wi-Fi Passwords, click Delete.

To delete Wi-Fi passwords saved to Amazon from your compatible Kindle e-reader:

  1. Tap the Settings icon from the Home screen, and then tap All Settings.
  2. Tap Wi-Fi and Bluetooth.
  3. Tap Delete Saved Wi-Fi Passwords, and then tap Delete to confirm.

To delete Wi-Fi passwords saved to Amazon from your compatible Fire TV device:

  1. Select Settings > Network from the Fire TV menu.
  2. Select Save Wi-Fi Passwords to Amazon.
  3. Press the Select button on your remote to turn off saved Wi-Fi passwords, and delete passwords saved to Amazon.

Note: Deleting Wi-Fi passwords from your Fire TV will only delete passwords saved to Amazon from that device.

6. Can Amazon Family members' devices use my saved Wi-Fi passwords?

If you are part of an Amazon Family, your saved Wi-Fi passwords can be used by the system to connect family members' compatible devices during setup and reconnect. Your password is never shown to or accessible by any family member — it is only used behind the scenes to connect their devices. You can disable this feature anytime from Manage Your Content and Devices > Preferences > Saved Wi-Fi Passwords > uncheck "Also allow Amazon Family members' devices." 

7. What is saved network password sharing and how does it work? 

If you are part of an Amazon Family, your saved Wi-Fi passwords may be used to help compatible devices registered to other adult members of your family connect to the Internet. When a family member sets up a new compatible device, it may connect using Wi-Fi passwords you have previously saved to Amazon, so they do not need to enter the password manually. They never see the password itself. Similarly, Wi-Fi passwords saved by other adult members of your family may be used to help your compatible devices connect.  

8. How do I stop sharing my Wi-Fi passwords with my Amazon Family? 

You can turn off saved network password sharing from your MYD preferences page. You can disable this feature anytime from Manage Your Content and Devices > Preferences > Saved Wi-Fi Passwords > uncheck "Also allow Amazon Family members' device". This disables family members' devices from using the customer's credentials during setup/reconnect. Devices already connected are not affected. 

9. Are my Wi-Fi passwords visible to other family members? 

No. Your Wi-Fi passwords are never displayed to other family members. They are used only to connect compatible devices to your Wi-Fi network automatically. Other family members cannot view, copy, or retrieve your actual passwords. 

Thread

1. What is Thread?

Thread is a networking protocol designed for supporting low-powered devices, such as sensors, smart locks, doorbells, fans, and thermostats. Certain devices, such as Amazon Echo (4th gen), can create a Thread network for your Matter devices to connect to. To learn more about Matter devices and Thread, see the Alexa Smart Home Connectivity page.

2. How are my Thread network credentials stored with Amazon?

Amazon devices, like the Echo (4th Gen), may automatically generate Thread credentials when creating a Thread network. Your Thread credentials are then stored with Amazon to help you connect compatible devices to your Thread network in fewer steps.  To learn more, see the Frustration-Free Setup FAQ. If you use a device other than an Amazon Echo to create your Thread network, you can choose to save your Thread network passwords with Amazon through your border router app, such as eero, or in the Alexa app during Thread device setup.

3. Are my Thread passwords secure?

Thread passwords are stored in an encrypted file on an Amazon server and are sent over a secured connection to compatible devices during setup. Amazon will only use your Thread passwords with compatible devices associated with your account, and will not share them with any third party without your permission. Amazon handles any information it receives, including your Thread passwords, in accordance with the Amazon.com Privacy Notice.
 
4. How do I delete my Thread passwords from Amazon?

To delete all Thread passwords stored with Amazon, follow these steps using your web browser:

  1. Go to Manage Your Content and Devices.
  2. Click the Preferences tab.
  3. Under Saved Network Passwords, Select Delete Saved Thread Passwords.
  4. Confirm deletion by selecting Yes.
Deleting saved Thread network passwords may prevent Amazon from using these passwords to deliver a simplified device setup experience for additional Matter devices. Some devices, such as Amazon Echo, may automatically create a new Thread network to facilitate future setups. You may not be able to use Alexa to control the Thread devices previously on the network, unless you set them up again from the Alexa app. For more information about how to manage your Thread network settings, check with the manufacturer of your Thread Border Router device.